No Regrets

by Randy Armstrong

“A sonic joyride from start to finish.” —Portsmouth Herald



Song Previews

  1. No Regrets Randy Armstrong 2:34
  2. Fisherman's Cancion Randy Armstrong 1:46
  3. Seven To Twelve Randy Armstrong 3:01
  4. Love Has No Boundaries Randy Armstrong 3:04

No Regrets

by Randy Armstrong

A stunning collection of eleven songs performed on acoustic and classical guitars with Lakota courting flute, sitar, tabla and West African drums. Includes Randy's new arrangements of the Miles Davis classic Blue in Green and Chick Corea's Crystal Silence plus nine original compositions.

Randy Armstrong — acoustic & nylon string guitars, gibson L7 guitar circa 1948, synth-guitar, bass, keyboards, sitar, tampura, tabla, Lakota courting flute, mbira, djembe, djun-djun, shakere, axatse, atoke bell and percussion.

  1. No Regrets
  2. Fisherman's Cancion
  3. Seven To Twelve
  4. Blue in Green
  5. Summer Day Blue
  6. Tribute II
  7. Can't Wait To See You
  8. Bahji Revisited
  9. Crystal Silence
  10. Love Has No Boundaries
  11. Song For Peace


“Listening to No Regrets, Randy Armstrong’s tenth album, is like listening to a whole season of concerts in one sitting. As one of the pioneers of the world fusion music genre in the early 70’s with Do’ah World Music Ensemble, Randy brings all of his experience and performance genius to a collection of songs that range from the evocative sounds of a Lakota courting flute to a most sophisticated jazz guitar arrangement of Miles Davis’ “Blue in Green.” In between, Randy explores the full range of emotions and captures them in ground-breaking arrangements that further his reputation as one of the most innovative musicians of the era.”Spirit Voyage Music

“The world is a much smaller place these days. With the click of a mouse or the punch of a button on the TV remote, you can read a soldier’s blog, swoop like a bird through exotic locations on “Google Earth” or watch world events happening in real time–just like millions of others half a world away. We’re all experiencing the same things. All this new technology has just put an exclamation point on what musician Randy Armstrong has been saying in words and music for nearly four decades–the people of the world are more alike than not.”The Wire

“Randy Armstrong is a one-man wonder. His ability to play more than 200 instruments from around the world, as well as his degree in composition and world music, all shine through on No Regrets. Although Armstrong is primarily a guitarist, and a fantastic one at that, his rhythmic skills also are impeccable. Drawing from sitar, Lakota courting flute, djembe, and tabla to round out his sound, he presents a polished set of guitar-based themes on No Regrets.”New Age Retailer

“No Regrets is a strong musical statement from a musician whose playing has defied categorization throughout most of his career. Whether it be on guitar, sitar, wood flute or various percussion instruments, Armstrong takes the listener on a sonic joyride from start to finish.”The Portsmouth Herald

“Randy Armstrong’s all acoustic, all instrumental pieces tell more story than any poet-cum-musical artist ever could in rambling verbal form. There has been such stress on story and lyrical form that the music has taken a backseat for poets who want to lend musical voice to their stanzas.Armstrong’s playing is itself lyrical without words, each track sucking the mind in through the guitar soundhole as if through a wormhole into the great Whatever. Randy Armstrong is an artist fit to reintroduce the listener to the area of acoustic music as something to be appreciated and savored.

“Armstrong manages to get several musical points through during his songs that leave a lasting impression on the listener. There is never more than guitar, light percussion, and the occasional guitar-triggered pad synth sounds on any of these tracks. All of these pieces still emanate a strong energy unto themselves that only finely crafted acoustic music can. Most artists write instrumental sections as a break between the lyrics or overture, but Armstrong’s pieces are all payoff, all the way. No Regrets exhibits rhythm and quiet power, as well as the occasional touch of mysticism such as that in the second track, “Fisherman’s Cancion.” This particular track is a good example of what Armstrong can do in low-power mode. “Cancion” never explodes or kicks up to anything, but the track is a quietly effective one in its own right. The track directly thereafter, “Seven to Twelve” is a flourish of a piece with its own different energy and movement. Randy Armstrong shouldn’t have many regrets about this release.”—C.D. Di Guardia, Northeast Performer Magazine

“No Regrets is a perfect name for this record. I have no regret in wanting to review it! The CD graphics are adorned with intricate pictures of sunsets – a perfect description of this album. Randy Armstrong uses the entire duration of this CD for intense acoustic guitar solos, soft, obscure ballads of almost trance-like songs that bring you to another state of mind. His talent is amazing. While most music these days tries to capture your attention, this record reminds me of those artsy movies when the main character looks out his window and watches the countryside pass. It’s perfect background music for reading or pondering the universe. When you feel tired and need to relax, turn to this album. Even though Armstrong offers no philosophical ideas on the cosmos or love or life, I’m sure it will inspire you to find the answers of your own. I recommend starting with the idea of having No Regrets.” —Alter Magazine

DOMO Records
CD 73818-2